Micro-Baking: Easy 2-minute “Baked” Oatmeal!

cover photo

It’s summer, and I want to be lazy. But that doesn’t mean I don’t want to be creative. The microwave plays a perfect role in situations like this; I decided to fool around with some healthy breakfast ingredients to make a super simple breakfast in a cup! Not only does this recipe call for only three to four ingredients, you can enjoy this clean and flavorful breakfast for one with just the press of a button.

The best thing about this oatmeal breakfast is that it doesn’t have the typical ‘porridge’ texture of cooked oatmeal. With the egg and milk, the final product tastes like something between a cake and an omelette with the chewy and grainy oatmeal and seeds embedded inside.

All you need is:

1 egg

1/4 cup of milk (if you would like the oatmeal to be a little more runny, add more milk)

About half a cup of rolled oats (I used the muesli I had at home, which had rolled oats plus crushed almonds, cereal, pumpkin seeds, and raisins)

Fruits and seasoning to taste

Whisk the egg, put the other two ingredients in, and I put in half a banana for some creamy fragrance (I love the smell of cooked banana – banana bread? mmmm.) Also, I think it would be great to sprinkle to cinnamon on top. Then mix thoroughly and microwave for 2 minutes.

And this is what you get!IMG_4212It looks like a mini cake!! Now all you have to do is fluff with a fork and enjoy!IMG_4213A little bit of moisture from the milk could still be left at the bottom of the cup, but I only microwaved for two minutes because I didn’t want the oatmeal to be too dry. Don’t worry! the grains will soak up the milk while you’re waiting for the cup to cool down. And that just makes it tastier! This little mug filled with deliciousness will definitely become my go-to recipe for an easy, healthy breakfast 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts!