Spot Dessert Bar: A Sweet Spot in Downtown NYC

Image

This little half-underground cafe on St. Marks Place is probably my most favorite dessert ‘spot’ so far. Yes, it’s pretty famous, and sometimes you do have to wait in line for a while, but considering the amazing energy boost and the delightful taste of the sweets, I think it’s definitely worth it. I first came here with my friends after my birthday dinner, and I completely fell in love with their sweet and creative desserts.

Image

Spot Dessert’s menu is full of such delectable treats. Their most popular items are probably the dessert tapas (and if you go with a group you can order their special combos, I believe) – their #1 bestseller is the Chocolate Green Tea Lava Cake, and Iย say it more than deserves its place.

Image

The cushy, sweet cake with warm, chocolatey goodness oozing out of it – combined with fragrant green tea ice cream – is probably one of the best foodgasms you could experience.

Image

Their other tapas are quite charming as well. This one was the Harvest dessert, made to resemble a potted plant! The soil was cookie crumble, with red berry shortcake inside the pot accompanied by a berry sorbet. Since they have seasonal menus, I’m actually not sure if they have this right now, but I’m sure they always have very creative dishes pleasing to both the eye and the mouth.

Image

This one is the Golden Toast. The fresh strawberries just completes this whole thing. At first it might just look like a giant hunk of bread, but its not. It tastes….golden.

Image

This one is the Green Tiramisu. The green tea flavor was perfect for me, and I liked that it wasn’t too sweet. Although I do like brownies and cheesecake and cookies and all that goodness, I find that sometimes light and fluffy works best when you’re too full but still want ย dessert.

Image

I also tried their macaroon! In fact, this was where I tried a macaroon for the very first time in my life. It was pretty tasty, but I didn’t have any other experience with macaroons – now that I think about it, it could have been better. I recommend ordering the tapas if you’re staying to eat, or if you just want a small treat, maybe go for a cupcake instead of the macaroon.

Overall, I think Spot Dessert Bar is really the perfect spot for a night out with friends just to chat and have something sweet to much on. They also have another location in Koreatown, so if you’re ever around 32nd street, Spot is there for you. The lines can be a little long at times, but they move pretty fast.ย Plus, they have free wifi, a loyalty punch card, and a great atmosphere!

Image

Free birthday cupcake courtesy of Spot Dessert! A lovely place.

Spot Dessert Bar

13 St Marks Pl, New York, NY 10003

212 677 5670

www.spotdessertbar.com/

I would love to hear your thoughts!

