DIY: Transforming My IKEA Desk into a Marble Table

 

marble table before shot finished marble table

 

When I moved into my apartment, the previous tenant left behind a bunch of Ikea furniture that my roommate and I ended up using ourselves. I have to say, theyΒ had gone through some major wear and tear. So I had the idea of ordering some marble contact paper on Amazon to transform my drab white Ikea desk into a marble table!

This is my white desk in dire need of reform. I don’t know if you can see, but there are a lot of puffy, brown spots on the desk where the paint peeled off and water got to it.

marble table before shot

I ordered two rolls of marble contact paper – I ended up using only one of them.

marble contact paper

The process is pretty simple – I spread out the paper along the edge of the desk to measure out the length, marked it with a pencil, and cut it up! The contact paper comes with gridlines along the back, so the cutting was easy.

marble table1

Once I attached the edge of the paper to the end of my desk, I unraveled the back of the paper and used a hard piece of cardboard to make sure that there aren’t any bubbles. Of course, attaching the paper without ANY bubbles was very difficult for me, since the surface of my desk was uneven. But I tried!!

marble table2

I repeated the process once more to cover up the rest of my desk, and voila!

finished marble table

A new marble desk ready for use.

candle marble table

 

 

 

 

canles and necklace

 

A fun project and a super quick way to freshen up my room! πŸ™‚

I would love to hear your thoughts!

