Cakeful Weekend with Secret Recipe!

cake

This past Sunday was my little sister’s birthday! So my mom and I spent a great deal of time and money (you’re welcome) to pick out some awesome cakes from a Secret Recipe store. Whenever I celebrated my birthday in Shanghai, the Secret Recipe chocolate cakes were a must. This year, I decided to get creative and get a variety of pieces from their awesome selection of cakes! It was just such an sweet experience (both emotionally and gastronomically)Β that I wanted to share it with you!

 

Β I’ve been to Secret Recipe quite a few times for a meal (they have salads, pasta, noodles, etc.), but their cakes are definitely their forte. You can buy them by the piece; so for my sister’s birthday, I decided to choose four individual pieces instead of a whole cake. Each piece costs around 30 RMB and they give you birthday candles if you ask.

cake2

The Chocolate Banana

This awesome cake is one of my favorites. Β With little banana coins embedded inside fluffy chocolate goodness, it actually has a really natural and addicting sweetness to it.

cake6

Black Forest

This was the Black Forest cake, with delicious coats of cherry between each layer. I actually didn’t like this one was much as the other cakes, probably because I was expecting a more fruity flavor. But I liked that it wasn’t too sweet.

The other two cakes were cheesecakes. Who doesn’t love a rich, delicious, good-ol’ cheesecake?! I have to admit that I was somewhat partial in making the decision to pick two cheesecakes, since I had been craving them since I left NYC. The first cheesecake I chose was the Oreo Cheesecake; although I know these little cookies are not the healthiest thing in the world, it’s a guilty pleasure worth enjoying. It had a cookie-flavored Oreo crust too!

The second cheesecake was the Green Tea Cheesecake. I reallllly liked this one. Besides the fact that I like anything green-tea flavored, this cheesecake wasn’t too sweet and had a very strong green tea flavor, which I loved.

cake4

Oreo Cheesecake

 

cake5

Green Tea Cheesecake

Overall, these cakes tasted amazing and my sister loved them. She also loved the idea of arranging the individual pieces on a long plate! I think it actually came out quite nice and was as visually pleasing as a whole round cake.

cake cover

I wish I had a birthday to celebrate everyday. πŸ™‚

I would love to hear your thoughts!

