DIY Sharpie Mugs!

Today, my lovely sister surprised me with an unexpected package – I had been nagging her about wanting to buy a blank mug for DIY purposes, and she actually ordered one from Amazon just for me! Personalizing my very own mug turned out to be super fun and simple; I love the way it turned out!

For this project, I just needed a mug, some sharpies, and my oven!

mug post pens

I got these oil-based permanent markers when I was in Korea – personally I think the one with the fine point works better for both thick and thin lines and is easier to work with. I know a lot of people use the oil-based paint marker Sharpies in the States for DIY mugs, so maybe next time I’ll try those in some other colors.

DIY mug2

If you don’t know already, I am a huge coffee nut. I have way too much fun exploring different coffee shops but lately I’ve been getting into brewing my own coffee as well. So it’s pretty obvious as to why I chose this design to be on my mug.

DIY mug3

I didn’t want to leave the other half of the mug blank, so I went ahead to wrote in one of my favorite quotes from a Korean TV Drama called “Reply 1988”. It basically says, “Loving someone means that you give love not because you have enough, but because you cannot help giving it.” When I first came across this line I could totally relate to it – True love is unconditional – in good times and bad, right?

Anyway, enough of this cheesy stuff. After finishing the designs on the cup, put the mug in the oven, set it to 350’F, and let it preheat with the mug already in the oven. When it’s preheated, let the mug bake for 30 minutes, turn off the oven and let it cool down in there.

DIY mug

I absolutely love the way it turned out – I didn’t know that something I scribbled on the mug would transform into such a professional-looking design! I’ll follow up with reviews of how this mug endures future washes, but in the meantime, I’ll just be sipping my morning coffee in my very own, personalized cup.

I would love to hear your thoughts!

