Beauty: May Favorites – Summer’s Coming!

Hey guys! Before we go too far into June, I wanted to share some of May’s favorite products with you. With the summer weather rolling in, my skin has become a lot more oily, surprisingly more so this year (I’ve always considered my skin on the drier side). Naturally, the products I had been using successfully throughout New York’s long and cold winter were no longer effective; so I had to change up my skin care routine and swap and test out different products to see what made my body the happiest. Well, let’s begin!

Before we get into the face products, I want to talk about this amazing hairspray:

Yarok’s FEED YOUR HOLD Style Sustaining Hairspray

I purchased this hairspray on a whim while shopping at Urban Outfitters when they were having a huge sale on beauty products. I actually think that the bigger UO stores carry a nice selection of beauty & cosmetic products; many of their products are made of all natural ingredients, which are hard to find at regular drugstores.

IMG_5094 copy

At first, I was taken aback by the fact that the spray was not an ordinary aerosol spray but rather a mist; however, the spray works well, and it doesn’t leave my hair sticky or heavy. It might take some time to get used to its earthy, herbal smell, though. I’ve been playing around with my curling wand since I have a little more time on my hands – and this hairspray does a great job of providing just the right amount of tight hold.

Etude’s Precious Mineral BB Cream

IMG_5093 copy

I received this as a Christmas gift, but since I had been leaning towards using a mist cushion BB cream in the colder months for that extra moisture, it had been just sitting in my makeup bag until I decided to give it a try. Now, as much as I would like to sport the ‘dewy skin’ trending in Asian makeup, I’ve realized that the oil that spurts out of my T-zone doesn’t go well with the whole watery skin look. I feel like this BB Cream is much more mattifying – yet it gives my skin a subtle glow because it has pearl particles infused in it.

Now moving onto nightly skincare. My skin gets tan easily, and I mean REALLY EASILY. I get serious sock tans, bracelet tans, and sunglasses tans just by standing under the sun for less than thirty minutes. That’s why I was in the hunt for a brightening toner, so that my face can get a summery glow without the pigmentation.

Andalou Naturals Illuminating Toner

This toner has clementine and lots of vitamin C. It acts on the skin at the cellular level, treating hyperpigmentation and UV damage, which is exactly what I was looking for! I spray it onto my face after cleansing, and the cool, citrus scent is so refreshing; I can also definitely tell that my face tone is a lot more even despite the long hours of walking through the streets.

Step two of night routine. This is probably unorthodox, but I’ve temporarily ditched the night cream for:

Tony Moly’s Berrianne skin lotion

The sleeping pack lotion and the night cream  I had been using turned out to be too thick – I think they made my face oily and actually caused the sweat and oil to build up on my face. After calming my skin with the toner, I apply this skin lotion all over my face; this lotion is definitely thinner, but still has a really creamy texture; it’s actually made up of two layers of moisturizing ingredients, so you have to shake it up before using. This French moisture care gives my skin an energetic boost without the heavy stickiness of a traditional night cream, which is perfect for this sweaty summer weather. The amazing berry smell is a plus.

IMG_5090 copy

Last but not least, I have these two products to protect my skin from temperamental, last-minute breakouts from oily summer skin. Sweating inevitably leads to occasional blemishes, and although I don’t get acne, going to the gym or even just walking outside can lead to oily breakouts.

YesTo Tomatoes Blemish Clearing Facial Towelettes

These towelettes clear up my pores and has that slight sting (which I actually enjoy), which means that it’s doing the job. It seems pretty gentle on the skin, but I still try to keep the usage to a minimum, since the acidic ingredients can be too drying.

Burt’s Bees Herbal Blemish Stick

For a more immediate result, this blemish stick is the solution. I’ve read reviews about its smell being too strong, but I actually quite like the herbal smell. When an annoying pimple pops up, I roll on some of the herbal formula, and it seems to control the blemish and calm down the skin a bit.

IMG_5092 copy

So, these were some of the products I enjoyed in May. Let me know if you guys have any other suggestions for some awesome summer beauty!

xoxo, Mary

One thought on “Beauty: May Favorites – Summer’s Coming!

  1. Pingback: Korea Haul 2016: Tony Moly, Etude House, Missha, Innisfree, Skin Food, The Face Shop, and More! | Maryseeo

I would love to hear your thoughts!

