Jack’s Wife Freda

jacks wife freda

This Saturday, we had some phenomenal weather here in New York. It was pretty much the first time I’ve worn shorts outside in months! Of course, nice sunshine calls for some great brunch!

I’ve been wanting to try this place for a while, and my friend Jordan and I finally took initiative and rode the subway downtown. The lines can get very long, but we only had to wait for about 20 minutes until we got a nice table next to the open window.

We decided to try two of their most highly recommended dishes: The Green Shakshuka and the Rosewater Waffles.

jacks wife freda

The Shakshuka was two baked eggs with tomatillo sauce served with toast. I liked the slightly spicy taste of the sauce, and it went perfectly with the amazingly soft and buttery toast.

jacks wife freda

The rosewater waffles were delicious as well. I’m used to waffles topped with ice cream, Nutella, or some sort of sugary topping, so the yogurt topping was a sweet change. I think it went well with the fragrant but subtle rose flavor of the waffles.

The servers were very nice, and although the restaurant itself is pretty tiny, the vibe combined with the awesome weather was absolutely perfect. I’ll be craving this brunch when the sun comes out again!

Jack’s Wife Freda

$$

224 Lafayette St

New York, NY 10012

b/t Kenmare St & Cleveland Pl 

SoHo, Spring St. Station

2 thoughts on “Jack’s Wife Freda

  1. Hi there! Jack’s Wife Freda looks so good. It makes me hungry for brunch even though it’s almost dinner time here in San Francisco. I was hoping to ask you a question, would you mind sending me a note at the address provided? Thank you!

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts!

