Simple Lunches: Healthy Turkey Pasta

healthy turkey pasta

On most days, I don’t dare walk into Trader Joe’s after seeing how long the lines there can get. But I do know that once I get in, I inevitably splurge on some grocery items. Along with my usual granola and yogurt (and some delicious cookie butter), I decided to get some ingredients for an easy, single-serving pasta lunch.

ย Prep Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

3/4 cup whole wheat penne

2/3 cup organic marinara sauce

Fist-sized clump of ground turkey

1/2 cup broccoli florets

1/2 small onion, chopped

1/2 cup of chopped mushroom of your choice ( I used Shiitake mushroom)

1/3 cup of green beans, chopped

Extra virgin olive oil

1. Easy peasy. Put some water on the stove to boil, and while you’re waiting, chop up the veggies.

2. Cook the vegetables on a pan with some olive oil, and after about 5 minutes, put the pasta into the boiling water and cover.

3. For the next ten minutes, put the turkey in the pan with the veggies and keep tossing until the meat is cooked.

4. Drain the pasta, then put the marinara in the pan.

5. Mix the penne and everything else on low heat until the sauce is well incorporated.

You’re done!

turkey penne pasta

Super easy, super filling, and filled up the kitchen with the amazing smell of spaghetti sauce. What more could you wish for on a wet, rainy day?

2 thoughts on “Simple Lunches: Healthy Turkey Pasta

  1. Oh I hear you, I love and hate shopping at Trader Joe’s for the same reason. It’s impossible to avoid those tempting impulse buys! But it also makes quick and healthy dishes like this possible- They even have a vegan ground “beef” that could make a nice meatless substitute, too.

    Like

    • True! I love that so many of the products are unique to Trader Joes (my all-time favorite is the cookie butter). What is the vegan beef made of? I’ve been wanting to try out some vegan dishes for a while!

      Like

I would love to hear your thoughts!

