Turkey and Veggie Egg Scramble

healthy lunch

When my phone told me this morning that it was 6 degrees F’, I was like, “Nope, not going outside today.” This weather is keeping me stuck inside the kitchen, so I thought I would share with you what I threw together for a simple lunch for one! With so many free pizza lunches and cookies lately, maybe this was a good time to make myself a healthy, protein-packed meal.

Being a busy/lazy college student, I inevitably tend to lean towards the frozen section whenever I do groceries. However, that doesn’t mean that I can’t be healthy…I mean, the world outside is frozen, so it just makes sense for me to cook with frozen food, right? Let’s see what I have in my fridge.

Ingredients
1 cup frozen veggie mix – diced carrots, sweet peas, green beans, lima beans, corn (I used Whole Foods’ vegetable blend)
Handful of frozen broccoli florets
1-2 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
Turkey pieces, pre-cooked
1 egg

Cooking time: 5 minutes

1. Leave the frozen veggies outside for a bit – they don’t have to be completely thawed, though.
2. Heat up olive oil on a small frying pan.
3. Throw in the veggies and stir-fry for a minute.
4. Tear the turkey pieces and toss them on the pan, too.
5. Optional – I squeezed in some red pepper paste to add some spice. Or you can just sprinkle a pinch of salt.
6. When the veggies are almost cooked, crack in the egg and scramble away!

Β Voila!

turkey and veggie egg scramble

 

Eggs and Lean meats like turkey have a lot of protein, which can keep you satisfied until dinnertime.

turkey and veggie egg scramble

This was my super quick, simple, and healthy lunch. If you want, you can top the dish with a drizzle of Sriracha hot sauce, too!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

