Blueberry & Pumpkin Seed Sugar Pumpkin Pancakes

pancake cover

Fall is officially here for good – which means that my yearning for anything pumpkin is more desperate than ever! Creamy mashed sugar pumpkin in breakfast form? Totally tickling my autumn taste buds. Start your morning with these easy Blueberry and Pumpkin Seed Sugar Pumpkin Pancakes, gluten-free and with all-natural ingredients!

Weeee! Happy Autumn! Happy October Break!

Pumpkin is without a doubt one of the iconic flavors of the season. Sugar pumpkin is perfect for healthy fall recipes because it’s easy to handle and already has plenty of sweetness in itself; plus, those little orange bowls of happiness are just adorable!

pancake

October break is finally here! I was kind of (actually…extremely) disappointed when our family trip to Cebu was cancelled because of a last-minute meeting my dad’s company scheduled smack in the middle of break. At first, I was just  annoyed because the tropical vacation I had always been dreaming of had been scrapped. But then, my emotions turned to frustration and anger at the world for not letting my dad have a single moment of relaxation, when it was clear to everyone around him that he was almost working 24/7.  Is that what the corporate world is like? Thinking about the restlessness of the people sitting in their cubicles everyday, I had a moment of weakness where I doubted my choice of schooling and my choice of career. Like the ending of The Great Gatsby, maybe we’re all just struggling against the current, meaninglessly beating on for love, for family, for money…

But it’s all good, because I chose to study business because of the opportunities and the knowledge that will enable me to empower myself and conquer that very weakness, that restlessness. Hopefully by the time I become a part of society, my generation will have the strength to make ‘work’ a natural and proportionate part of life; work that encompasses our interests, passion, family, and love; work that will encourage us to use those elements of our life to become more productive.  We wouldn’t even have to consider such a thing as a work-life balance.

ANYWAY, I DIGRESS.

pancake3

Since China this time of the year is basically TEEMING WITH PEOPLE everywhere you go, I’ve decided to cross out the tourist spots and go for cooking, baking, shopping, foodventures, and movies instead. And you know what? I’m totally fine with that 🙂

pancake2

Without added sugar, these pancakes still have plenty of natural sweetness from the pumpkin and the blueberries. They’re very fragrant and a bit crispy on the outside, but unlike classic pancakes, the inside of these pancakes still preserves the creamy texture of the pumpkin.

To prepare the sugar pumpkin

Cut into small chunks (you don’t have to peel the skin) and steam over boiling water for about 10-15 minutes. At this point, the pumpkin should be cooked well enough for you to scoop the pumpkin off the skin using a spoon.

For the recipe, you’ll need:

1 cup mashed sugar pumpkin

1 egg

1/3 cup milk

1/2 cup rolled oats

2 tablespoons pumpkin seeds

a handful of blueberries, fresh or dried

OPTIONAL: a few teaspoons of honey for extra sweetness

1. Whisk the egg and milk in a large bowl, then mix in the pumpkin, oats, pumpkin seeds, and blueberries.

2. Drizzle the vegetable oil of your choice on a pan, then cook large dollops of the batter over low heat until well-cooked.

pancakes

A perfect breakfast for a breezy fall morning. Well, that’s it for this recipe! Hope you liked it 😀

4 thoughts on “Blueberry & Pumpkin Seed Sugar Pumpkin Pancakes

I would love to hear your thoughts!

