Sproutworks (豆苗工坊) – Hip and Healthy Food in Shanghai

Sproutworks cover

Does it make me a picky person if I confess that I was super frustrated because I couldn’t find KALE in Shanghai? Whereas in the U.S., even college dining halls have a pretty descent salad bar, I find that it’s pretty hard to eat a nice, real salad in Asia, mostly because they have other dishes with lots of vegetables already in them. But sometimes I just want clean, fresh superfoods that are either hard to find or just darn expensive in this city. That’s when I discovered Sproutworks! Honestly, I would go here everyday if I could. Their selection of healthy and delicious sides are just like magic.

My friend Jordan and I visited this place a little before lunch hour, around 11:30, so it was pretty empty (but by the time we left around 1, the place was crazy crowded). The atmosphere is very clean and modern (they also had a Taylor Swift playlist going on – eating and jamming, oh yeah.) with a food stand that somewhat resembles a Chipotle. There you can choose a bunch of sides, order a Panini, a smoothie, a rice bowl, or anything else from their menu. The employees are mostly proficient in English as well. I ordered a 55 RMB lunch set, which includes a salad and two sides. This was my second time visiting Sproutworks, so I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that they had changed their salad menu to include new ones. Plus, they toss the salad right in front of you.

plates

Silverware, napkins, and water are all self-serve. All that, plus the food tray, gives off a luxurious cafeteria vibe.

IMG_4227 copy

This was the first side that I got, Edamame, Feta Cheese, Dill, and Baby Corn. I haven’t had edamame beans in a while, and I never realized how well they went with corn!

IMG_4235 copy

This was one of Jordan’s choices, with Wheat Rotini, Grilled Eggplant, Roast Bell Pepper, Sun-dried Tomatoes, and Pecorino.

 

Southwest Salad

This was the Southwest Salad that I chose as my choice of salad. It had HUGE chunks of avocados in it, which is basically the reason I picked this salad haha. I didn’t expect it to be spicy, but it kind of was! I guess I ignored the ‘spicy pepper’ sign on the menu because I was too enchanted by the avocado.

sproutworks kale

Yes, I saved the best for last. This was the side that I fell in love with the first time I went to Sproutworks, and it did not let me down this time, either. This is the Kale, Cranberry, Breadcrumb, and Parmesan Cheese side. I’m a fan of kale, and I think parmesan cheese and the cranberries perfectly compliment the kale. I will be craving this in my sleep. But watch out! Sproutworks updates its menu on its website very often because it serves a variety of fresh foods. Rumor has that (aka my sister tells me that) sometimes this dish is nowhere to be seen… But I was lucky enough to savor this deliciousness both times!

This place has quickly become one of my favorite restaurants in Shanghai, and I will definitely be going there again sometime in the very near future. I can’t wait to try their other healthy sides! If you’re around, make sure to go there for a healthy and delicious boost of energy!

Sproutworks 豆苗工坊 

Super Brand Mall Shop (The one I went to) 021-6890-5966
浦东新区陆家嘴西路168号正大广场B2楼
Super Brand Mall, B2-06-07
168 Lujiazui Xi Road
Pudong, Shanghai
(B2 Level in the Bakeria)
Hours: Everyday 10:00 – 22:00
 
Xintiandi Store 021-6339-0586
马当路185号 靠近自忠路
185 Madang Lu (corner of Madang Lu and Zi Zhong Lu)
Huang Pu District, Shanghai, China
Hours: Everyday 10:00 – 22:00
 http://www.sproutworks.com.cn/
2 thoughts on “Sproutworks (豆苗工坊) – Hip and Healthy Food in Shanghai

  1. My friend’s been trying to drag me to Sproutworks since forever, but I’m not a big healthy food person. However, after those pictures, I think I’ll have to reconsider!

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts!

