Protecting Your Skin Against Pollution

IMG_20140709_173813

I happen to live in a neighborhood where there is plenty of green and sunshine, but even then, the air quality in general is not so superb here in China. In fact, I keep a widget on my phone that tracks the air quality index in Shanghai, and sometimes the numbers go up to several hundreds; it’s hard to see the skyline of the city on those days.  When the air is this messy, I feel like I must take some measures to protect my skin from it.  Here are three extra steps that I take to protect my skin from being damaged from the pollution.

20140715_140141

1. Lush’s Eau Roma Water Toner

I love this all natural toner because it clears up my face and leaves it feeling extra calm – and another thing I like about this product is that it comes in a spray bottle, so I just have to give my face a few spritzes and tap it in instead of smothering liquid onto my face. I feel like this sets up a clean base for the rest of my makeup without clogging up my pores or irritating my skin, which I think is very important in forming a strong barrier against the bad pollutants in the air.

20140715_140034

2. Etude House Dust Cut Facial Mist

This little bottle I purchased from Etude House in Korea (shopping for cosmetics is one of my favorite things to do in Korea 😛 ). This product has become part of my daily routine recently; when I’m done applying all my makeup, I usually spray this on my face to form both a protective coat against pollution and as a makeup setting spray. I really like it because when it dries, it actually gives your skin a shiny glow and makes your face look very natural, even with makeup on.

20140715_140105

3. Innisfree City Defender Dust Cleansing Tissue

I was super pumped to find several Innisfree shops throughout Shanghai – their products promote natural ingredients and environmentally friendly methods of production. This tissue is sometimes a lazy substitute for those days when I’m wearing light makeup and don’t want to go through a heavy cleansing before bed, or just an extra step to wash away any dust that could be left on your skin at the end of the day. These nifty cleansing wipes have marine fiber and lotus extract that help clear away any pollutants that might be blocking your skin. I really like the smell of these wipes – already halfway through my first pack!

These were some of the products that I stick in my routine to prevent any skin trouble or blocked pores caused my all the messy pollution going on here in China. Hopefully there will come a day when we don’t have to worry about issues like this!

One thought on “Protecting Your Skin Against Pollution

I would love to hear your thoughts!

