Summer in Korea! – Part 3

Image

After returning to Seoul, I’ve been having a pretty good time – especially because the weather is so hot!!! It’s true, hot weather can be sweaty and nasty and sticky, but there’s nothing like a soft breeze wrapping around you when you’re all dressed in summer clothes ready to have some sun-kissed skin.

Anyway, the day after I got back, I went to Lotte World – one of the world’s largest indoor theme parks – with my good friend from college! We went on a Thursday morning, which was definitely the best decision; lines were so few and short that we actually had to wait for MORE people to come for us to go on the ride. We went on all of the most popular rides twice πŸ˜€

We made our way to the outdoors part of the park first – we wanted to conquer all the rides outside as early as possible so we could avoid the heat.

Image

For lunch we stopped by at a Japanese ramen shop while walking around – the top is a cold ramen, and mine is the warm miso ramen.

Image

Necessary ride on the merry-go-round

Image

Image

We had fruit bars for a snack! It was the most refreshing treat after screaming our guts out on the rides.

The next day, Aunt Lee and I went on a shopping adventure out to Express Bus Terminal, near which a plethora of shops sell food, clothing, accessories, and cosmetics. I got a bunch of stuffΒ which I’ll hopefully post about pretty soon! For lunch we went to a mall nearby and grabbed a very delicious pumpkin almond sandwich and a chicken teriyaki sandwich. I got a kale-banana juice as well!

Image

(Oh hey, look at the new phone case I got!)

Then we went to the movie theater to watch Maleficent – it was a nice little movie, although in some parts I thought Angelina Jolie’s acting was a bit funny, haha. The storyline was rather different from the original sleeping beauty, but I don’t wanna spoil it for anyone πŸ˜›

Image

On our way back we went to Paris Baguette to buy the famous Pure Milk Cake that’s trending in Korea right now. It’s made from organic milk, and I was super excited to taste it because my suitemate and I back in New York saw it on Facebook and had wanted to try it so badly. The cake tasted so light and fluffy that it melted right in my mouth!Image

It looks to pristine and beautiful….

The next day, I met up with two of my old high school friends for Saturday brunch at this place called Cafe Mamas. Then we went walking around Gwanghwamun Square, where we took pictures in front of the statue of King Sejong, creator of the Korean alphabet!Image

The paninis we had for lunch were absolute heaven.

Image

The day was scorching hot, but we still had an amazing time!

At night my cousins and I went to a nearby park, and what do I find waiting for me? A giant rock-climbing wall! I have zero arm strength…so this was certainly a challenge for me! but I made it just past the halfway point, which was a great accomplishment for me πŸ™‚

Image

All dressed up in gear!

Image

I can’t believe ten days have already passed by, but I’m excited for what next week has in store! (Just throwing out there a picture of the amazing shaved ice we had after rock-climbing.)

I would love to hear your thoughts!

