The End of the Beginning

ย 

Even with just two final exams left and three gigantic suitcases to pack all of my stuff into, I still can’t believe I’m leaving New York City in less than a week. Throughout my first year of college, I feel like I’ve had a love-hate relationship with this city. But mostly love. Sometimes I would feel a desperate longing for the past, when I was living in a small, Christian town where everything was peaceful and so close to nature; here, I felt like I had to try really hard not to jeopardize my relationship with God. But at the same time, New York City has given me an amazing experience – an ever-stimulating concrete jungle with ridiculously amazing food, theater, and music – and of course, countless people that I feel so blessed to have met.

Spending a year apart from my family has turned me into a more open, independent ,and responsible person, and I feel like I’m one step closer to becoming an adult. But the thing is, I don’t want to become an adult just yet. I wanna enjoy this ride, however stressful I may get, and see things from a broader perspective. In just a few days I’ll be heading back to the motherland… I think it will be a pretty interesting experience, since I’ll be back in the same city, but as a different person. We’ll see.

I would love to hear your thoughts!

